Performancing Metrics

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Top Ten Books I'd Like To See Made Into Movies

Top Ten Tuesday books made into movies
Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the lovely ladies at The Broke and the Bookish (how much do you love their name?).  Today's theme: books that should be turned into films.

I usually hate it when I find out they’re making one of my favorites into movies – it never turns out the way I imagined it, and that makes me mad.  These are books I’d love to see made into movies if I were the one casting, directing and scripting them, because I would do them right.


Book cover of Match Me If You Can by Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Match Me If You Can by Susan Elizabeth Phillips Almost any of Phillips’ books would make a great rom-com on the silver screen, but I love this one about a quirky Chicago matchmaker and a ruthless sports agent. 

Crocodile on the Sandbank by Elizabeth PetersThirty-something Victorian spinster Amelia Peabody takes her inheritance and heads off to Egypt where she encounters menacing mummies and an attractive, irascible Egyptologist.

The Charm School by Nelson DeMilleCold War-era thriller about a Soviet spy school.  Frankly, I’m surprised this hasn’t been made into a movie already.  The action is so intense, it’s almost like reading a movie script.

Book cover of The Game of Kings by Dorothy DunnettThe Secret History of the Pink Carnation by Lauren WilligWillig’s series about female Napoleonic Era spies would be gorgeous on the silver screen.  The subject matter would make it fit for PBS but Willig’s love scenes would probably be more appropriate for Showtime or HBO.

The Game of Kings by Dorothy DunnettThe brilliant and politically savvy Francis Lymond changes history and breaks hearts all over 15th century Europe.  Fans of “The Tudors” or “The Borgias” would love this one.

By Possession by Madeline Hunter One of those medieval epics that makes you really glad you have running water.  The love story between Moira and Addis would translate beautifully to the screen.
Book cover of Mrs. Mike by Benedict and Nancy Freedman 
A Thread of Grace by Mary Doria Russell – A network of peasants and operatives in northern Italy try to help Jews hiding from the Nazis.  The setting alone would be worth a movie.
  
The Westing Game by Ellen RaskinA clever whodunit that kids and adults would love.

Book cover of Letters from Yellowstone by Diane SmithMrs. Mike by Benedict and Nancy Freedman – Katherine Mary O’Fallon is sent to the Canadian wilderness to improve her health and ends up falling in love with Sgt. Mike Flannigan of the RCMP.  Based on a true story, and my mom’s all-time favorite book.

ETA: Apparently a 'Mrs. Mike' movie has already been made! Have to check that out one of these days...

Letters from Yellowstone by Diane Smith – Not sure how they’d do this one since the book is mostly letters (duh), but it’s the story of a young botanist who schemes her way into an expedition to Yellowstone in 1898. 

Romance novel book reviews by Sarah The Brazen Bookworm

10 comments:

  1. Great list! I'm going to be reading The Secret History of the Pink Carnation soon.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I haven't read most of these, sadly, but I agree that The Westing Game would be great. I know my students love this book even though it isn't as current as some others out there. Great list!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Love your list. Letters from Yellowstone sounds interesting as does the Secret History of the Pink Carnation (which is on my wish list.) Mrs. Mike was made into a movie in....1949. I think it is due an update!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I haven't read these but the covers are great :) Great list.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks everyone!

    @Sharon, I didn't know it was a movie already, but I think an update would be terrific!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I haven't read any of these books. I'll be adding a few of them to my 'to read' list!

    New follower!

    ReplyDelete
  7. What a great idea for a meme question! I wish I had done it! :) I suppose I still could and just date it as yesterday. LOL. Love the layout of your site.

    Also, newly followed!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I don't think I've read any of these but I continue to hear great things about the first one.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I agree with you completely about the Westing Game and Pink Carnation. :)

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for your comments!

Romance novel book review